Author Topic: Bullseye Powder Charges for 4 Guns?  (Read 8524 times)

Welsh Rifleman

• Active Members
    • View Profile
Bullseye Powder Charges for 4 Guns?
« on: October 09, 2012, 10:49:50 am »
I am a fairly recent member of this forum....but not recent to reloading and shooting.  In recent years, most of my shooting has been with off-hand shooting of single shot black powder cartridge rifles.....from 32-40 to 45-70 calibers.  I "mix" my own lead and tin to a 20 to 1 ratio for my cast bullets.  I have been using 2 Star Lube-Sizers for many years.

I recently "acquired" a Star Reloader in 38 spl cal and bought an additional one in 45 acp cal.  These machines have re-kindled my interested in getting my "bullseye" pistols out and blowing the dust off to see if I can still hit the black paper once in a while.  Not that I was ever very competitive....but I always had fun sending lead down range from a classic one-hand position.

I previously used 231 as my powder of choice....but now want to use Bullseye....so I have some questions on the charges that you have found to be a good place to start for the following bullets and guns.  I know there are many threads on this forum containing information that helps on this quest and I have read most all of them to get a starting place for my questions on powder charges.

45 acp.....185 gn Lead SWC.....Colt Series 70 Gold Cup National Match

45 acp......185 gn Lead SWC.....Smith & Wesson Model 25-2

Question: What are my chances that the same powder charge will work for both 45 acp guns?

38 spl......148 gn Lead HBWC...Colt 1960's Vintage Gold Cup National Match

38 spl......148 gn Lead HBWC...Smith & Wesson Model 14-2

Question:  What are the chances that the same powder charge will work for both 38 spl guns?